Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Time And A Diamond

There are certain days in the year that mean something to you. Today is one such date for me. Today would have been my younger brother, Ken (known as Lewis to all his friends), 51st birthday, as he was born on 28th August 1963. Ken died in 17th November 2001, aged 38, from Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma cancer. There's no need for any empathy as I know he's in a good place and that one day I'll see him again.

Ken was a bit of a character and moved from our home city of Cardiff to London in his teens, and trained as a nurse. He lived there until my dad fetched him home a couple of months before he died.

His best friend was The Paul O'Grady of tv fame. He knew Paul long before he became famous and their friendship continued even when Paul hit fame as Lilly Savage. Ken used to stay at his house and I know he went for Christmas dinner. Paul phoned every day during the last few weeks when Ken was terminally ill, and came to the funeral at Coychurch, Bridgend. I did the eulogy and, I must say, it was the hardest thing I have had to do. Paul O'Grady is on tv a lot these days and I always think of my brother when I see him.

The watch in the blip photo was one of his and was given to me as a keepsake. I was left some money, and bought the heart shaped diamond for my wife. I knew he'd like that.

Sometime in 2003, I went at the last moment with my sister (her friend dropped out that day) to see a psychic. I won't go into detail except to say that he got Kens name, told me I'd been left his watch, told me when a couple of things would happen in the future (they did happen- and not when I expected!), and also told my sister things. He also told me who my brother was with in the spirit world and that he'd be there to meet me when I 'crossed over' BUT not to worry as I'd be around for a bit!! Whether you believe in psychic's or the afterlife is your business. All I know is he didn't get the info from us and was spot on!

As I said, no need for empathy if you leave any comment. Just the day means something to me and I thought it'd be a nice momento in the blip book.

The wife is feeling a lot better. We collected the son's dogs and took them to Cwmcarn Scenic Drive. We walked from the entrance to the top of Twmbarlwm Mountain. A bit longer and strenuous than we'd planned. The views are stunning.
I used to police the scenic drive about 25 years ago and it surprising how much I'd forgotten of it. A couple of times I ran from the entrance to the top and return with the cross country team. It was bad enough walking it today!

How time goes, and although you forget things, certain things remain a good memory.

Here's a photo I took today on the side of the mountain that I liked. Full of vibrant colour. A couple of hours earlier we'd been sitting in the conservatory with the rain belting down saying we wouldn't bother going out - glad we did!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.