Gory!

I took Basil to Dishley Pool and the River Soar this afternoon. The sun finally came out and so did the hawker dragonflies. I was exceptionally pleased to get some shots of a reed warbler clinging to reeds and was going to post one of those today.

BUT!

When I got home, Len told me to get the camera out and to come quietly to the bedroom to watch a sparrowhawk dismembering and eating its prey, a wood pigeon, in the garden. He'd been watching it for an hour. There wasn't much left of the pigeon by the time I arrived. Since the back of the sparrowhawk was brown, we deduced it must be female.

I asked Len which photo I should publish. He declared, 'Sparrowhawk!' If only to prove that the pictures come to me rather than me going out to take pictures. It was rather the same at Holme Fen yesterday. The dragonflies were lining up on the bridge to have their mugshots taken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.