In The Style Of

Each department must be manned during the mid-term break and I was holding the fort today. Seven hours is an extremely long time to spend at work all by yourself and so I broke the day up with copious amounts of internet surfing mixed with a liberal splashing of photography, made all the more fun by my discovery of a whole load of little plastic people (part of an abandoned engineering project I think) in my office.

As is par for the course whenever I stay too long in one spot with my camera, I attracted attention from onlookers. Today's winning simpleton stood right behind me during this shoot, mouth agape, eyes flicking between me, the camera and the odd scene before him. I didn't blame him though. It's one thing begrudging attention whilst taking photos of padlocks and flowers, quite another to expect surreptitious behaviour from the locals when you're on your hands and knees with little plastic people, blu-tak and a macro lens. I was asking for it really.

The inspiration for this comes from a photographer called Slinkachu (Larissa got me his excellent book for Christmas). Believe it or not, the ant is perfectly okay and after playing dead whilst I grabbed the shot, he just got up and toddled off when I'd finished!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.