CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Re-Cycling

Technophobe very kindly took me on a bike ride today. I have a lovely bike, which I bought about 15 months ago, but I’ve have scarcely used it. I did have a nasty accident once, but that was donkey’s years ago. However, what with that and a fairly horrible illness last year, it has all combined to make me very nervous about using my bike. Don’t ask me why – my brain works in its own strange way.

We seemed to go very fast through the countryside – that is I thought we were going fast until we were in one village and a little old lady with a basket on the front overtook us. It was very fast for me though. We also went a long distance – for me! It was about a quarter of what Technophobe is used to doing, but was still getting on for 10 miles, so I was delighted.

In addition, we had the bonus of stopping off at Mary Arden’s Farm for our coffees (Mary Arden was Shakespeare’s mother – neither she nor Bill were at home though).

On our way back we came via a nearby village where there is a lovely old cottage being re-thatched, and Technophobe had already said that she’d like to Blip the thatcher at work. The owner spotted us outside and very kindly showed us around the exterior of the cottage and also invited us in to look at the interior. It was all very interesting, as the cottage is actually built into a bank (of the earth kind – not Barclays!). There was a lovely dog on the roof helping the thatcher, which was a bit surreal. We figured out how the dog had got up there when we went round the back of the house and saw that the roof came down to the embankment behind it, so the dog could just run up it.

Technophobe has a lovely shot of the thatcher at work. My Blip is of Technophobe Blipping the thatcher.

Altogether a very pleasant and rewarding Friday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.