CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

My Birthday Treat

Today we went for my birthday treat, which was a present from our son and daughter-in-law. Before you start to sing “Happy Birthday” and prepare your backs for giving me the bumps, my birthday was in March. I received the voucher on the day, but we just haven’t had the opportunity to go before now, or when we could go, it was fully booked.

My treat was “Afternoon Tea for Two at Coombe Abbey”. Coombe Abbey was originally built as a Cistercian Abbey in the 12th Century, and was a monastery until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the time of Henry V111. It is certainly most unusual there, and well worth a visit.

The afternoon tea was absolutely lovely. Extremely scrumptious, and as all treats should be, it was something that I would never have dreamt of buying for ourselves.

We ate as much as we could, and after a Herculean effort, decided to call it at day. It wasn’t wasted though – the staff gave us a box with the cakes that we were unable to devour at the time.

It was pouring with rain when we had our tea, but as soon as we finished, the sun came out and we were able to have a wander around the beautifully kept gardens and lake.

Nikonabike can just be seen through the cake stand. (He's obviously trying to get me into trouble if you see his Blip!)

Thank you son and daughter-in-law. Excellent present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.