Street statuary

I noticed this dramatic memorial today, as I walked along Whitehall with some friends. They've been in London for a few days and I went down to join them.

(New excuse for delays on the train - cows on the line near Milton Keynes !!! presumably not the statuary kind)

We went to Harrods (teenage boys are into shopping!) and then back up to Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square and down to Big Ben.

The length of Whitehall, in the middle of the street, are several men on horseback, as well as the well known Cenotaph. But the one that I noticed was this modern tribute to the women during World War II. I love the clean lines and the modernity.

I kept noticing more new statues in the streets too.

There's a statue of Robert Stephenson just outside Euston Station which I think is relatively recently arrived. And a big square lump of silvery metal further away.

And outside Edgware Road Tube Station there's a man with a ladder.

We don't have the flair of Oslo, but we're continuing to make our capital's streets more interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.