RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Hurricane Marie Waves

I don't think I will ever tire of taking shots from our 14th floor balcony. It seems there is always something going on within the scope of my vision and as I said in yesterday's entry the light up and down the beach is fabulous during the early morning and late afternoon hours. Today, however, I was focused on the breakwater about a mile offshore. Built to protect port operations it was doing an outstanding job today as the waves from Hurricane Marie reached our area. We watched in fascination as wave after wave broke on this protective barrier. Some merely washed over it, while others, like the one shown here, splashed high into the air. It took a while to get a boat in the shot, for a sense of scale, while a wave was breaking, but I finally captured what I was looking for here. I little flooding of low-lying homes south of town, but nothing too serious - not like we would have suffered in Zihua with waves this high.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.