WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Thump it

When I was teaching in schools, I also looked after IT. We had techies who came in to solve real problems but I could do the key 'Have you plugged it in?' (usually not) and, 'Try turning it off and on.' (always a winner).

Anyway, one problem we had was our monitors would sometimes go fuzzy. David, my knight in shining armour techie at the time, taught me something that since, has personally saved us expenditure for nearly two years...

Slap it on the back. Hard.

Miraculously, it worked. All fuzziness ceased.

Now, when I left teaching, we had a similar issue with our TV except it would suddenly lose all power. Initially, a wiggle of the cable fixed it but when that failed, I tried a slap on the back. Hard.

Brilliant! Full recovery.

Over the weeks, months and years, the slap developed into a thump, then a thwack and more recently a right royal thud.

However, on Tuesday, with nearly four broken hands between us, our TV was no longer.

Tonight, Richard here, sold us a new TV in a very pleasant manner. We are now out of the dark ages in TV technology. The only slight problem is that the menu system is in Zulu.

However, watching an episode of Dexter was more important and luckily the white triangle is universal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.