carliewired

By carliewired

Driving Home Through the Fraser Canyon

I made another
early start
hoping to avoid
the traffic of a long
holiday weekend
I chose the old #1 highway
making the journey one hour longer
but avoiding much of the frenzy
I stopped for photos of special locations
giving me time to stretch my legs
The weather is cooler and wetter
making the day easier but the
photos less colourful
My last stop overlooked home.

~ carliewired

top row: left- St. John the Divine Church, Yale, British Columbia. It was built in 1863 to 'civilize' the gold miners of the day. middle - a view into the Fraser Canyon near Yale. right - Ashcroft Manor Roadhouse, Ashcroft, British Columbia. Situated on the Cariboo Wagon Road, it assisted travellers in the gold rush era.

bottom row: left - St. Aidan's of Pokhaist Village, an old Anglican church viewed across the river from the Trans Canada Highway. right - the view of North Kamloops and Batchelor Heights from the Columbia Street lookout. I can see my house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.