Cutting & Pasting for @WallaceANDMoray

This collage of cuttings took me ages to construct today.
I was trying to get an eye-catching profile picture for the Guardians of Scotland Facebook page and Twitter feed, @WallaceANDMoray, so it was out with the scissors and montage a-go-go.
It took me back to the days of my callow youth when I used to love doing these things. I'd spend hours and hours cutting out and assembling things.
Also made me think that newspapers cuttings are almost a curio in this virtual age. I was always rooting through the cuttings files when I worked in newspapers.
You'd call the library up, ask if they'd cuttings on whichever subject you were 'investigating' and then send a copy boy (or girl) to fetch them. Newspapers were a hierarchal place. Even worse, the copy boys were not boys, but men.
Even better, I'd head down to the library myself and look at ancient newspaper files.
Another hangover from my childhood; my dad and I were both mad on old papers. If we ever found them lying in a drawer, that'd be an hour or two lost in happy contemplation of a day long gone but faithfully chronicled.
The first draft of history, no less.
I'm doing PR for the Guardians of Scotland Trust. A feisty Bravehearted bunch... please check them out. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.