LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Straight Flush

Nobody took my bait unfortunately. I really hoped that there would be a couple of people with a strayclub in their hand to test their mettle against my 6 and 8. Only the jack AND queen of clubs could have beat me I think.

A very enjoyable game of cards, six at the table which I think is the best number, enough for a decent pot (£60 which I won) but not so many that small eddies and whorls of conversation can form and derail the game completely. And the six were a particularly fine six in my opinion.

Being a bit strapped for cash there was a trip to Costco this morning (they let you pay by cheque and with it being a bank holiday weekend there is little chance of the cheque hitting my bank account before payday on Thursday) in a bit of a rush as NUFC were playing at 12:45 turned into a bit of a disaster and I didn;t get back till about 20 minutes into the game. Jen had paused it so I could watch it when I got back but the transmission was interrupted which meant the recordig jumped into real time and I lst half an hour of the game. Given it was a 0-0 draw I guess I didn't miss much.

Curry for dinner, I made a Do Pyaza curry, not one I have made before and the technique was a bit different. Crispy deep fried onions ground and added towards the end of cooking, as well as the onions in the curry. Quite a lot of yoghurt in the sauce and so it was a very creamy textured smoky tasting curry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.