Double Shot Mummy

By JPS

First day at big school tomorrow!

Where has the past four years, four months and 19 days gone? (That took me a while to calculate due to varying reasons related to motherhood!) I remember sitting bolt upright in bed breastfeeding my 5-week-old twins... the bedside light was dimmed, I was trying to fight a tiredness like I'd never know before. I can see them propped up on my cushion, my arms draped around their tiny bodies. I can actually feel their warm, bony bodies relying on me totally for life.

I remember Stuart bringing up a letter from his Aunty Janet who had also had twins and was in the know. She talked about their experience and the bit that stuck in my mind was her saying that one day we will walk them to school and walk home with an empty double buggy and it will feel strange. Well, there will be no buggy ride to school (Instead a very early rush hour car ride along Sheik Zyaed Road)... but it will certainly feel like Bailee and Oscar have become more independent and we have entered the next chapter in our lives.

I am so happy for them. I know they will thrive and have a lot of fun. They are excited too but I can't help feeling sad that it is finally happening.

The click today is of Bailee and Oscar's "Wow moment." The school requires it and I am guessing the teacher is going to talk about them tomorrow. It always amuses me with what they come up with (Written word for word from their mouths). They helped me make some oaty flapjacks for their lunch boxes today and we had a lovely family roast (Cooked by daddy)...

Now, wish us luck with a very early start! (We need to leave the house at 7am!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.