Trudieva

By TrudievA

Cicade

This morning me and oldest got up at 6 am to go running in the park. I'm so glad the park is close to home, only an 8 minute drive. Belief me, that's close in Texas terms :-)
Oldest is running Cross Country and needs to practice on Saturdays too. I quit my running schedule a couple of weeks ago, because my left foot was swollen and I didn't know what I had done. It didn't hurt when walking, but there were a few painful spots, so I decided to give it some rest and of course it's always more "rest" than you actually need.
Anyway, today I picked up my running again and it didn't go that bad.

After running I took my camera out of the car and took some pictures. The bubble bee I spotted on a flower wasn't really active yet, so he was just sitting there and let me take the pictures I wanted. A hare was nibbling on some blades of grass and it was easy to take its picture. Getting up early works! The animals are not very active that time of day.

But the best thing happened when we got home. As I was driving towards the garage, I noticed something on the driveway. I had to do my best to avoid it and when I parked, I walked back to take a look at it. It turned out to be a cicada and it hadn't moved from its spot when I passed by. I thought it was dead, so I grabbed the camera out of my purse and started taking pictures. Dead or alive, at least we have the picture, right?
Too bad I only had my telelens on the camera, because I could have gotten really close. After I took several pictures from several angles, I touched the cicada a little with my shoe. It made a strange noise and then flew away with the sound of a helicopter. So much noise for such a small animal!

Here's the picture I took. Isn't it a beautiful creature?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.