Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Ouch!

I knew when I picked up my mobile and saw the care home on the screen that there was a problem. The Mother had a swollen wrist after an incident last night of her hand being trapped in the bedding. They were calling a doctor.

I said I'd be in later after I finished cleaning the lodge, it sounded like a precautionary measure.

I got another call saying the doc wanted to send her for an x-ray. During the week this could have been done at Penrith but, today, we had to go to Carlisle. As luck would have it the radiographer on today was one of my ex- fellow students! Not many of my colleagues left working now.

I was fascinated to say the way Radiography has evolved but, a fracture is still a fracture, and still hurts!

Another twist was that the young doc was training with our own practice on weekdays so he was interested enough to go and get other results we have been waiting for regarding The Mothers CT scan. It was good news, fibroids, nothing sinister. We already know about her heart condition, which is causing the oedema.

So, we came away with her in a back-slab and an appointment for Monday to see the Orthopaedic Consultant and getting plastered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.