wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

A quiet one

It's been a good weekend, with particularly beautiful weather. I got some of those niggling tasks done - the front verandah finally swept (and hosed down, so much dust!), the roses deheaded, the lemon tree weeded, yesterday's explore up the hill, other general stuff done. It's a good feeling getting things done.

This morning we had our church AGM, a surprisingly jovial occasion, followed by a BBQ to celebrate passing the next year's budget and all the other good things of a successful AGM. I'd hoped to make it out to the Mt Pleasant Radio Telescope open day for some fun, but the time just didn't quite work out. Instead I got a bit of sunshine time with this book.

I really like Bill Bryson's writing style, it's always so chatty but packed full of information. I'd much rather aspire to this kind of writing (and audience) than stuffy academic style, but I should probably stick with the formal at least for my thesis. This book has been borrowed from a friend for a long time now, but I'm finally reading it and really enjoying it. Although right now I must look on a map to work out just which village his Norfolk house is in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.