Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

This was the meal that nearly wasn't, and I have Blip to (partially) thank for this state of affairs.

I had a gig tonight at the Lighthouse, and despite this, and knowing that it was Christine's last night here, I invited some friends round for a meal at 6; lasagne, salad, garlic bread, followed by chocolate cake, strawberries and cream.

Sound good? I thought so. I could feed the 8 of us, and still be at the Lighthouse for 8.

At 4, whilst in the middle of separating the eggs for chocolate cake recipe, friends arrived unexpectedly - not a problem. Coffee, biscuits, visit to the garden, take cuttings, byeeeeee.

Carry on with the cake - whip the egg whites. Whip, whip, whip (in the kenwood).

Christine, meanwhile, is up the stairs putting up curtains (as you do ). She then hears a blood-curdling scream from the kitchen, followed by manic laughter ....... she was scared to come down, but she did, to find me trying to mop up the mess I had made.

I had decided NOT to switch off the kenwood before flicking the switch to lift the paddle out of the egg whites. Result? A redecoration of the kitchen.

However, I am a pro. I cleaned up everything (including my own face), then got the chocoate, butter etc blended into the egg and put the whole lot in the oven.

Tidy up kitchen, as all good chefs do. Discover that I have not put the required number (6) eggs in the cake. The friends who interrupted the separation, also interrupted the arithmetic. Oh dear. The cake is cac. (the gaelic for Sh_t)

I then begin to notice the smoke coming from the oven. On investigation, discover that the cake tin is leaking mixture onto the bottom of the oven, which is then burning. Decided to shut oven door and forget about it. What is done, is done. (Who first said that, the smarmy get?)

This is where Blip came in. My sister had registered for Blip, but forgot her password, and wanted to do her first blip up here, and she is leaving tomorrow. Blipcentral was brilliant (many thanks, Joe!) and got her on her way to her first blip.

You know how they say that when you are on Blip, you forget everything else?
IT'S TRUE

What's the smell of burning? Oh, it's just the last of the chocolate cake. What's the smell of burning? I'm telling you, it's just the chocolate. What's that awful smell? Shit - it's the roux.......... Yes, the roux for the cheese sauce for the lasagne is now a blue haze smoky mess.

Exit one pan to the back door -

Start again. Watch it this time.

Anyway, the lasagne, garlic bread and salad were fine. The cake, although with a dip in it like Vesuvious must have had, tasted OK with masses of strawberries and cream.

Thank God I have understanding friends.......



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.