Take me back over the rainbow...please

I have the post holidays blues!

I miss:
The salty air that tightens your skin.
The wind that whips around you and makes brushing your tangled hair a painful job.
The crashing waves that smash into the rocks and send spray whooshing high into the air.
The sand that gets everywhere, especially between your toes.
The sky, a velvet ceiling that drips with a million stars, so vast and close that it swathes around you.
The birds that hover on gusts and shriek as they dance about in the sky.
The dolphins that slipped through the waves, their skin glistening and sparkling.
The windows that rattled all night.
The smell of seaweed as you clamber over rocks.
The crunching of pebbles as they jar your feet when you step on them in flip flops.
The crabbers lining up along the jetty.
The picnics on the beach.
The tankers that dot the horizon and light up like Christmas trees at night.
The holes we dug just for the fun of it.
The coldness of the sea as it numbed my feet.
The loo with the view.
The noises in the night that scared the bejesus out of me.
The laughs we had as we played games in the evening.
The sound of six foot three nephews walking into a hanging light again...and again.
The joy of eating breakfast and looking out to sea.
The fun of taking photos with family.

There is so much more that makes a holiday....but especially sharing all of it with my sister and nephews.

I don't want to be here, back in reality, I want to go back over the rainbow where everything was special.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.