Blue Planet Photography

By blueplanetphoto

More time consuming busywork

A rather pedestrian blip, but I've been rather pedestrian the past few days.

Replacing the cartridge in the master bathroom shower. Had a scavenger hunt to locate the main water shut off. The likely location is right near where the water heater is in the garage, which coincides with the master bedroom closet. Typically, a lever sticks out of the wall, or is in the crawl space (access is through the floor of the master closet). I spent some time grubbing around under the house, tracking water lines to no avail. No lever in the closet (checked that first, of course. Who wants to grub around under their house unless you're 6 years old?). I think I was told where the shut off was when the house was built, but in the ensuing 7 years we've not had a reason to shut off the main water so that memory was long gone. I called the developer and they were nice enough to send someone out to help look. Ends up it was at the other end of the house in our second bathroom, where we never thought to look and were never told might be a possible location. Always it was "it's near where the water heater is".

Anyway, I got the thing taken apart then couldn't get the old cartridge out and the possible replacements didn't have the right removal tools. After a bit of digging around on the internet (lovely place) I found a mention that if the faucet is installed with the house, Moen will replace the cartridge for free. So, I got on the phone and sure enough, I have to pay for expedited shipping, but it's still less than the cost of the cartridge at the local hardware depot.

My parents are arriving on Saturday, and we're going up to the mountains for an evening scenic train ride, dinner, and a mystery play. The replacement arrives on Monday. We'll be sharing a shower for a couple days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.