LifeOfNay

By LifeOfNay

Family time


We got up this morning and whilst Nathan packed up our belongings whilst I sat on the floor trying to figure out how we were going to get places today without a GPS. I googled directions, got a screen shot of the map and a list of directions, all incredibly confusing but the best we had.
Every time we’ve gone or come home from Granddad’s we’ve got lost and ended up taking detours, Gatwick airport was a popular destination for us. This morning was no different! Following uncle Steve the other day we got to Woking in around half an hour, our record alone was an hour 20 minutes. Today we left at 10am and arrived at 11.30, I have no idea how, street signs in England are a lot harder to notice than in England. Plus roads we’re not used to, excuses excuses... Basically, we suck with directions.

It was lovely to spend some time with Granddad before we left. He offered us tea & coffee, my darling husband went into the kitchen to help him make it whilst I whinged about my hip. I’m so lethargic lately it’s getting to the point when I need a nap after waking up. A post sleep nap.
He tried to help us with printing directions off for our trip to Windsor Castle, which we were doing so well with until we hit a 25 minute detour! I could have cried. We had no idea where we were, where we were going or what to look for. We drove for a bit until we ended up somewhere with the word Egg in it’s name. We decided it was time to pull over and figure out where we were on the map. By some fantastic miracle we had ended up somewhat close to where we needed to go.
We kind of, slightly got back on track and made our way to Windsor, luckily we came across some large signs pointing us in the right direction. We had made it! yay! Now to find a park. We did a lap of the entire town before remembering that Steve and Granddad had warned us that you couldn't get parks in town. We ended up pulling into a pub called Windsor Castle and had some lunch there. So technically I can say I’ve been in Windsor Castle. We had some delicious bangers & mash.

We went for a short walk down to the gates of Windsor which was beautiful & the sun was out by now. As we were walking/hobbling we got over taken by a very small child, that’s how slow I am able to walk. I have been overtaken by numerous older people and little children with these tiny legs, I just want to throw the crutches away and be better again! I feel like a turtle & I just want to get out of my shell. wahh.
It was going to take to long to see all of Windsor & we still had to get to Auntie Sophie’s, knowing our luck that would take hours. Which it did.

It was an hour & half drive from Windsor all we had to do was stick to the M40, simple, right?! I ended up falling asleep in the car & Nathan was getting tired so we pulled over. I offered to drive, seeing as all I’d have to do is drive in a straight line and not change gears once I was on the motor way, I’d convinced him for a little bit that it was a good idea.
Nathan originally said yes, I was so excited as It had been ages since I’d driven a manual! We stopped off and had a delicious coffee at Starbucks, Nathan was feeling awake now so he changed his mind & realized it wasn’t a good idea for me to drive. I was gutted, but I had a plan. I’d stolen the car keys & refused to give them back unless he brought me a donut! Yes, England is turning me into a fatty, I’m on holiday!!

We got back on the motor way & started to see signs for Banbury! I told Nathan which junction to look for & the name of the exit, I started to edit photo’s on my phone putting my trust in him. Bad idea, we ended up in Warwick! 30 odd miles past Banbury! We stopped and checked the map, AGAIN, heading back the other way we were like hawks looking out for any signs to Banbury. I have never been so excited as when we saw the exit to Banbury. It was still a fair drive from here to their house, with small windy roads & little road signs we could hardly see.

We arrived completely by accident! We pulled over to walk down to the pay phone & saw Eve in a window at a little cottage! I waved with so much excitement.

Their house was stunning & very cosy. A marshmellowy bed, en-suit room and chocolate bar awaited us upstairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.