LifeOfNay

By LifeOfNay

Oxford

Day out in Oxford! You can’t hold me down crutches!!

Finally, Nathan let me off of house arrest and we went out exploring again. Ok, i’ll admit it, I needed the rest, but three days is enough, so today we went out with the family to Oxford.

We still got to sleep in today, getting up around 9am. I made a scrumptious fruit salad, best way to start the day. Blueberries, raspberries, banana, orange, apple & my favorite cheese! Nathan tried to make me a coffee this morning with what he thought was espresso coffee, but it didn’t dissolve in the water. It looked like a sewer in a cup & he still tried to get me to drink it, luckily auntie Sophie to the rescue with a fresh pot of coffee made the correct way.
Nathan & I went for a quick walk down to the park after breakfast, it was such a beautiful shorts & tshirt kind of day, which is rare in England. I’m getting so frustrated with not being able to exercise at the moment, (I should enjoy being lazy!!) all I want to do is go for a run, or a jog, I'll even settle for a walk without crutches, but I had to settle for some quarter seated squat jumps on the swing and some push ups.
We set off around midday to the train station, Oxford bound. Soph & Dan took us to Isaac’s favorite restaurant there. Izzaz, or Izaaz or vizzaaazzz or something completely different to that, It was an Italian restaurant & it had delicious food. Unfortunately, no soy milk for my coffee, Waahhh! Although everyone else had coffee which came out with a pot of sugar cubes, so I got my energy hit from that! There were some peculiar people in the restaurant, two young men who said nothing to each other the entire time they sat down & an older couple who sat next to each other instead of opposite & stared us our table the entire time, as if they were judging us.
Next we went on to visit my Granddad’s (aka Bumper - I couldn’t say Granddad as a kid) old college. It was stunning. Apparently you have to be very smart to go there, which he was and very talented at art too. Not for me. Me dum.
I remember sitting in his very well manicured garden as a kid with my younger sister, Lauren, he taught us a drawing technique using chalk & a rubber. I always admired him so much & loved all his art works. I’d give anything for another day to learn from him.
We explored the grounds of the college for a bit then head off down the road to Christ Church College, which was also beautiful. My arms were feeling a bit tired by now so we had a sit on a stone for a little bit whilst the kids got to get an ice cream. Eve, being her usual cheeky self kept trying to run off, sugar hit!
Dan went to go check bus times so we didn’t have to walk back but I decided I’d rather see as much of Oxford because we’re leaving tomorrow, so we walked back.

We squished on the train home, there were no seats left so I sat down on the baggage shelves with Eve. She curled up on a suitcase & was pretending to nap whilst tapping on the roof of the shelf, Nathan & I would tap back, she thought it was the shelf monkeys copying her! Too cute.
We jumped off the train & all piled into the 7 seater mini van & went home. Eve was being a bit naughty so we took her down to the park for a bit to blow off some steam. A stray cat came & joined us, but he wouldn’t stop itching so we had to avoid it.
Nathan & I got everyone a little something to say thank you for everything Soph, Dan, Eve & Isaac have done for us in France & in England. We got Eve a cd player with a Frozen CD (Which I really wanted to keep - awesome CD, Hint hint Nathan hehe) Isaac got a lego set which was a night mare to find because he has so many already, took us a while to find something he didn’t have, Soph & Dan got a bottle of wine each. The kids were so happy they both disappeared straight away in silence.
We all sat down for some delicious food, as usual Dan was a great cook, followed by a movie on ITV. Brilliant day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.