Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Sunrise on Star Island

Dear Diary,

Up at 5:30 to greet the sunrise which I find even more beautiful than the sunset...more subtle and enchanting. Whereas the sunset is all shouts and screams, sunrise is gentle sighs and whispers and that appeals far more to my contemplative soul.

I will be leaving Star this afternoon but the conference has been a huge success and I had a bit of an epiphany yesterday. When I got to Star yesterday I purchased a book of monochrome photographs by the winter caretaker on Star, Alexandra De Steiguer, who lives out here all alone from November through March. We were very lucky to here a lecture she gave yesterday afternoon and I knew I had to return to the monochrome image which I've put aside the last two years.

Coming to special places like Star, so separate from the mainland, often causes one to reach deep inside oneself. Our group was wonderful and very inspiring as well so I'm returning home greatly enriched.

An artist's duty is rather to stay open-minded and in a state where he can receive information and inspiration. You always have to be ready for that little artistic Epiphany.

Nick Cave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.