Softened

Softened was the word that sprung to mind when I looked up at the Erskine building through the tree. The linear repetition softened by the sweep and curve of nature.

My day has disappeared into a haze of work and insurance. After work I met a second insurance loss adjuster to assess my carpet damage. We're inching towards settlement but replacement carpet won't cover all of home and if I want matching carpet throughout, I'll have another large bill.

I mentioned my mattress (damaged by the moving company). The loss adjuster asked some questions and ended up assessing it too. On her advice I put in another claim to my insurance company, rather than continue trying to deal with the moving company. My insurance co appointed the movers to shift me out of home (and in again) for my repairs, so they'll meet the cost of either replacement or repair. Blimey they must have a few people in their sights to recover costs!

It's a slow process but there is progress.

Oh, and a little bit of normal returned after all that, I went for a run :-)

I can't complain. Home feels increasingly like home, it looks lovely and there will be an end point to all of this soon. Unlike so many others in Christchurch, my home is fixed and my land is sound. I have much to be grateful for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.