weewilkie

By weewilkie

I met a man who wasn't there

Standing at a bus stop in town waiting for a connection. This was in a shop window. It brings back memories of an episode of Sapphire and Steel where there is an overhead shot of a staircase with someone climbing it and the refrain

Yesterday, upon the stair,
I met a man who wasn't there.
He wasn't there again today,
I wish that man would go away...


by Hughes Mearns.

It really creeped my younger self out. But that wasn't the only connection I had with the words, because when I discovered that my Ex had had an affair I knew nothing about this was the rhyme that kept spooling around in my head.
Suddenly there was a ghost of a man in the house we lived in in Spain. He was there, but was nowhere. He was only there because I had discovered his existence, but he was back in Scotland and the relationship was over.
Nevertheless, he stalked the rooms of the house. He had been around my life for quite a while and I didn't notice him. He was invisible. He sat quietly in a chair while my Ex and I tried to unravel the problems in our marriage.
Then I got some information and I could sense his presence. I tried to get some picture of him, to create a reality but the thing with ghosts is that they are ghosts. They exist on some other dimension.
 I wished that man would go away, but the truth of it was that I was the only one keeping him in the house.
Ghosts. Mind created things, be it people who are not present or thoughts and feelings that change the temperature of a room or a conversation. They are everywhere if we tune in. Imprisoned in the minds of we humans who can't let them leave. Making us behave in ways that aren't apparent, but are merely apparitions. Maybe we actually live in a world populated, ruled and run by ghosts. And as long as there are humans on Earth the ghosts will be in charge.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.