Memories

Around 34 years ago, I had my office close to Bond St. tube station. Lunch time was spent in the Pontefract Castle and my barber was in the cellar below a sandwich bar in St. Christopher's Place. Always remember in early 1980 saying to the very charming male , and far from a "barber", hair stylist: "I'm going to become a father this year". His answer waving his wrist "Well, at least you have proved you are a man!". We had a good laugh!

Time goes on and now thrilled to be a grandfather and loving having new memories. Luckily the grandchildren do their equivalent to a Blip and produce artistic pictures to help me.

Yesterday the latest two examples arrived and are in the centre of the Blip:

Charlotte (4) had done the bees, with their hives, surrounded by the wild flowers I had sown in spring and surrounded by the fence.

Elliot (6) did the chickens in the chicken house and on the top a cock weather vane. Interestingly we have exactly the weather vane he drew but at the other end of the house and amazing how he even noticed it and correctly placed it where it ought to be. He also drew a tractor & trailer loaded with bricks - the bricks his Dad, Barry and Uncle J used to build a fire pit for our party a few weeks ago.

In no way meant to "downgrade" all the wonderful things that arrived from far and near, but these two pressies will have a very special place. Thank you one & all for your thoughts, condolences, congratulations and wishes, above all the health ones!

However the one card I didn't much appreciate was from the "Rupertus Apotheke" (chemists) in Ottobeuren, congratulating me and suggest I pick up my pressie from them soon (I guess they know something I don't) If only they had offered 10% discount on a new Zimmer Frame.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.