Nut Press

By katheastman

Pluck off!

Today was beyond frustrating. I had three reviews to post by midnight and at the start of the day had only read one and a half of the books, so I really needed to get my head down and do some serious reading...

... and somehow, various family members sensed this and decided that today was the day that they absolutely needed to pop round for a chat. At strategic intervals, rather than all together, obviously. Numerous mugs of tea later, I still had about the same number of pages to read but a lot less of the day!

One of the books that I wanted to read (and review) was one I'd requested from the Amazon Vine programme: Banjo for Dummies. I've had a tenor banjo collecting dust on the top of the bookcase for years but when I saw Vine offering this book, I thought it was a sign that maybe September had heralded in the Season of the Banjo. I was excited!

But that quickly turned to disappointment when I leafed through the book to find that it was only intended for Five-String Banjos and the tenor banjo, as you can see, has a mere four strings. Thwarted, and this just seemed to sum up the frustration of the day in general.

On a positive note, though, once I'd finally posted the last of the day's book reviews (around midnight), I started looking for another beginner's guide to the banjo and am determined that now the banjo's dusted off, I am going to give learning to play it a crack this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.