Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Reuben in the garden

I remember, oh boy it doesn't seem so long ago, I was talking about how lovely it was when the boys laughed along at my jokes. And then along came the response, soon they'll be laughing at you. Hm. What they neglected to say was that it would happen at aged 7.

Couldn't resist capturing him this evening just as he was, looking so sweet and sweaty from his day at school. That sweetness was lost on him.

In other news, I asked Callum's new teacher how his day had been.

"Great. He's settling in really well. Very sociable."
"Good".
"And he's a great critical thinker. He asks really good questions too."
I must have looked surprised, or uttered wow or something because she continued,
"Didn't you know that?".

Sometimes it just takes another perspective, right?

Looking back to last year, his first day at CWC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.