Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Rainbow

An unexpected surprise:

On our drive into downtown this morning, the air was thick with heavy clouds giving the city a gray-like appearance. It was misty and cold. As we were waiting for an appointment, we were graced with floor to ceiling windows and this gorgeous view. It was still raining and gray but the view of the city was amazing. We rode the elevator up to the 16th floor just to pass a little time and what do you know, they had an outdoor viewing deck. Well what do you know, I just happened to have my camera. I was capturing a very subdued city but happy about the unexpected outdoor bird's eye view. After the appointment, the skies began to change in front of our eyes. Small pockets of sun began to shine through the heavy gray clouds. I kept a watchful eye hoping for a brighter shot of the beautiful skyscrapers. Suddenly, a rainbow appeared. It was slowly rising into the sky. I snapped a few quick shots and was just beaming about the fact that I had had the opportunity to photograph a rainbow, for the very first time.

On our drive across the bridge, I looked to my left and was literally awe struck by what I saw. It was a FULL arched rainbow. The small rainbow had suddenly arched its way high above the historical bridge and had landed at the highest skyscraper in the city. Now you have to understand what was going through my head. I am a blipper now. And this was a once in a lifetime blip that was literally passing me by. I was stuck in the flow of traffic, driving away from it. AWAY FROM IT I TELL YOU!!! Oh I wanted that shot. It was a postcard shot. It was a money shot!! Now why don't they make special parking lanes on bridges for aspiring photographers and "extreme blippers". I had a small little freak out moment of "Seriously, you guys, no really......are you SEEING that? Are you seeing what I am seeing right now???". Yeah, they saw it, but I was FEELING IT! Did I mention how badly I wanted that shot. It was too late, I was already heading south and my little leprechaun friend was hanging north shining his pot full of gold coins.......

I did get the start of the rainbow though, and for that.....I was and AM grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.