CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Friday jaunt No. 2

Technophobe and I went on another Friday morning jaunt on our bikes today. We are trying to plan our routes to coincide with somewhere nice to stop for coffee, so today we went via Coughton Court which is a National Trust property a few miles from our village.

Full marks for the coffee (and for the shortbread – sssshhh!!) but nil points for the bike racks – or lack of, so we shackled our bikes to a fence near to the entrance.

I didn’t have to push my bike at all today (mind we probably didn’t go up such a steep hill as one we did last week, where I had to get off – Technophobe didn’t). But we did go up some hills – enough to make me puff and pant anyway. I was persuaded by everyone not to take a fleece jacket or a waterproof – and actually they were right, it was really warm and didn’t rain.

This is the back of Coughton Court, which is an extremely beautiful Tudor building of about 600 years, and is surrounded by lovely gardens and ancient woodland. I can think of far worse places to be on a Friday morning, than cycling through the Warwickshire countryside to this lovely place, accompanied by bird song and the sounds of buzzards hunting nearby. And Technophobe giggling.

I wrote a few weeks ago about Topsy who, along with a friend, is doing a walk around Mont Blanc in aid of our local chemotherapy unit. Well I'm delighted to say that she is now a Blipper, and if you'd like to follow her progress here is a link to her Blip. They flew to Geneva yesterday ready for the start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.