The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Haze

I had to be up and out with Gus early this morning to be sure to be in the office by 0800. So there wouldn't be much time to hang around waiting for sunrise, and looking eastwards over the Dales, there appeared to be much cloud for the sun to climb above - I thought I would miss seeing it. But then a crescent of red appeared amidst the murk, and quickly it inflated into a red sphere, brightening and yellowing as it rose. I got my sunrise after all.

I do love this time of the year, being able to see the sunrise without getting up at an unearthly hour. When the sun rises, somehow the world feels fresh and new, it is a daily renewal process. I know that the sun always rises, but there is always a sense of anticipation as I wait for it to appear. Did our ancestors worry that one day it wouldn't come up, did they give thanks each day that it did?

Anyway, there was a little time for contemplation before the trip to the office, and then the dash from Kendal to Penrith. Then it was another day in a windowless room talking and preparing for the forthcoming inquiry which is 11 days away now. By the time we came out, the sky had clouded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.