The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Desert dawn

A misty dawn seen from the top of Arnside Knott looking east towards Ingleborough, across the low limestone whaleback hills south of Arnside. The sun has just climbed into a little patch of cloud. At this time of the day, this is one of my favourite views anywhere.

It made for a hard blip choice today, as the day ended with a sudden blazing sunset that quickly burned itself out. I had very nearly left the camera at home, and in the event only had the big zoom with me. The telephoto was still ideal for big abstract Rothko-like blocks of colour across the estuary - I shall try and get a link onto Flickr later (now on, with another dawn shot). And while I was immersed in the visual world, Gus was absorbed in an olfactory one, so distracted by following a scent trail that he completely missed his spin around the woof trees. Maybe the hormones were racing?

Seascapes asked me last night if I have thought of having a separate journal for Gus, since he has a few admirers here. Yes, I've thought of it, but then I struggle to keep this journal going, never mind one for Gus too. In a way this has become Gus's journal as much as mine, as most of the blips either feature him, or were taken when we were walking the Knott and the coast. Maybe next year?

By the way, the blip consultant said this looked a bit like the Sahara, hence the title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.