keithyboy

By keithyboy

Another Send Off

More sadness today as we paid our last respects to Rusty. I have known him for years as a customer in our family shop and enjoyed the occasional pint in his company. Having touched down last Thursday to the news he passed suddenly in the night, I was confused and naturally saddened by the loss of someone so young. 46 is far too young to lose such a fantastic character.The turnout at the Duncansburgh Macintosh was phenominal and well deserved for such a nice and active member of the community.

A few years ago, more years than I care to remember, Rusty was driving taxis on Hogmanay, his kindness shone through the cold and rain. That night I had left a party being somewhat worse for wear, in the pouring rain and with my not so clever head on, this led to sliding down a very wet and muddy hill, a while later Rusty found me desperately trying to flag down a taxi. Despite my mud covered back and the fact he was en route to another job, he stopped, got the plastic seat covers on and dropped me home. Refusing to take any money from me into the bargain.

Cameron will be missed by lots of people from shopkeepers like myself to his old army friends and his family, who our thoughts are with in this sad time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.