youngies journey

By youngie66

The Lighthouse

Well I finally made it up to the Kyle Of Lochalsh today after an early start from Inverkeithing to Inverness and then Kyle of Lochalsh via Perth I made all my connections but it was close with the change at Inverness as I had 6 minutes instead of the 31 minutes I should have had anyway I got some nice photos along the Kyle line but the glare from the opposite windows of the train spoilt it a bit but I will create a couple of folios on Sunday of my trip on this line and the West Highland line on my trip back home on Friday anyway this shot is of the Kyleakin Lighthouse next to the Skye Bridge which I was walking over and grabbed this shot looking down on it as part of the bridge is built on the island of Eilan Ban or other name for it The White Island built in 1857 and linked to a couple of keepers house and was automated in 1960 and decommissioned in 1993 and is a category "B" listed building anyway I stayed at the Skye Backpackers hostel in the village of Kyleakin on the Isle of Skye on the opposite side of the water from the Kyle of Lochalsh with it's one shop and three pubs I tried them all and the first bar the only draught beer was Boddingtons what No Scottish beer jeez anyway next bar was my favorite as it had Caledonia Best and I will put a picture of this bar in my folio as although it has been temporary renamed the YES Pub with Yes Saltires and signs along with similar stuff inside I must admit to being really heartened traveling around the Highlands and Islands as all you see is Yes signs and flags everywhere I only seen a farmers field with two No Thanx signs and one small window sticker in a house and speaking to the locals they are saying most folks are voting Yes so good to know anyway the third pub Saucy Mary's I could have had the Belhaven Best but decided to try a local Skye beer which was dark and moody a little bitter on the pallet but it was ok and I had cottage pie there before heading back to the hostel now I knew two other guests were going to be staying in the same dorm of two bunkbeds each bed had a name and they were names from around Skye they were Waternish, Duirinish,Trotternish and yip you guessed it I got Minginish lol anyway I showered down the hall and changed into my shorts and tea shirt and was back in the room plugging my mobile in to recharge it not that it did any good as the 3G is crap in the Highlands I'd hate to have a contract up there as it won't do you much good apart from calling even then it's no that great anyway my fellow guests finally arrived in my room and to my surprise they were two russian lassies and I thought they would have kept the sexes seperate but I guess not so I said hello and they were friendly enough so they got themselves ready for bed also and that was it I don't think anyone farted or snored through the night lol not that I can remember anyway so movie for the day is "The Lighthouse At The End Of The World 1905" Looks good BIG as well See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.