Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

"What my doing today?"

Today was Aj's first full session at Playschool.

Aj came into me when I was getting dressed to ask "What my doing today?". We had a lovely chat about her going to Playschool and being with her teachers and friends; we talked about the different toys she can play with and what might be there today. We also spoke about using the big girl toilet and having lots of fun with no crying.

Aj seemed to be in complete agreement with all of the above. Oh how wrong could I be? When I took her into Playschool, I had already took DM to school, but still had R&P. Aj happily found her peg, put her lunchbox where it needed to be and clipped her peg to her coat. However, when we went to put her bag away and have cuddles, the tears were welling in her eyes. Bless her, I could see that she was trying really hard not to cry, even her bottom lip was starting to sag. It broke my heart! I pulled her in for a big cuddle and she just sobbed. Aj wanted to come home and be me with. R&P kept wanting to get in her face for a hug goodbye, trying to tell her that she's a big girl now at Playschool. In the end I had to ask Pops to stand to the side as this moment was about Aj and not her.

I had stupidly forgot to pack a cuddly toy to help console her. I gave Aj a cuddle and left her to be distracted by her teacher, whilst I nipped home and picked up her pooh bear to give to her teachers.

I found myself on tender hooks most of the day, half expecting a phone call from Playschool, asking me to pick Aj up. But she did it, Aj stayed at Playschool all day and thoroughly enjoyed herself.

I had the morning to spend quality time with R&P and then took them for their afternoon session at school.

My afternoon was spent sorting through paperwork preparing for a full on meeting tomorrow.

I picked the girls up from school and the collected Aj, she was so chuffed with herself and had done some great drawings.

My evening was spent continuing the paperwork and resulted in me going to be just after 3am. Fingers crossed I can get my ass out of bed in the morning

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.