wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

First Friday September edition

I am sure you must get tired of hearing my stories but, life is really hysterical sometimes.
An example you ask? Well Ingrid showed me some cards they were giving away at her work today. They were of a local lighthouse. Beautiful cards. Ingrid said she was surprised that all these years she was referring to the lighthouse by the wrong name. It wasn't until she took one of the many free cards that she noticed that the lighthouse was not "Bug light" it was " But light". " Ingrid" I said. "There is no such thing as a free lunch" it dawned on her, the cards were given away for a reason. (It is Bug Light)
We were hysterical.

The gallery we played in tonight was the one that we played at last first Friday. This time we sang inside. There was so much going on outside. We were informed that the belly dancers were coming back at 63o. We only could sing from 5 to 6:30. An hour and a half is a tease. For us! As we were getting close to the end you could look out the window on to the plaza and see the belly dancers waiting for us to stop. Oh well at least we weren't competing. Temperature in the galley was a brisk 85 degrees. Sweat central. When we sing Carey by Joni Mitchell, We always change the last line from "come to the Mermaid Cafe have fun tonight" to the name of wherever we are performing. My suggestion of " come to the hinges of hell have fun tonight" was not approved.

I think my glasses are messed up. I wear a progressive lens. Things are in and out of focus and my head hurts. Halfway through the set, I informed Ingrid and Shelly that if I was having a stroke, remember I am allergic to contrast dye. So, no CAT scan. I started obsessing about that. It just kept getting worse. I am sure I am ok. I better get these fixed pronto.

Tomorrow morning, we sing at the Crystal Springs Farmer's Market. Our last time until next spring. It's the best time there. We can't wait.

So I am going to sleep. I am exhausted!
See you tomorrow and,
Goodnight to the north and g'day to down under!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.