A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Such a perfect day.

but we are quite exhausted now. Sitting in our room watching a gorgeous orange sunset (the same one as NannaK). We did the same last night except we were having dinner in the Boathouse on Kitsilano (Kit) beach with our friend  Liz and her daughter Helen who lives here.
The sunset over English Bay highlighted the distant mountains on Vancouver Island. Breathtaking!

On our walk back we were shocked to see a Skunk on the Main Street! Couldn't get the camera to focus on it though as it was so dark and the flash didn't reach.

We walked the western side of Stanley Park this morning which skirts English Bay. Again we took the bus into the park but as far as Prospect Point this time.
The first thing I spotted was my first black squirrel (not seen in the UK) and then a Possum!

A little further on I caught a movement on the rocks! My first Otter! I've hoped to see one of these in Scotland for a long time so couldn't believe my luck!

This one was just in a patch of sun eating his breakfast so was quite good to photograph but I had also spotted another on a rock further away before it disappeared into the water. Watching for it in the water I discovered there were two swimming along together and when this one finished its meal the three of them swam off in and out of surf. It was magical. When one caught food again it came out of,the sea and ran off to eat it on its own. At one point the three of them were on the beach together but a bit in the shade.

I have not been disappointed with Vancouver and these few moments made it even more special for me.

We had to hurry along then as we had to catch the little False Creek Ferry to Granville Island to meet Liz again for lunch. This time she had grandson Hamish with her.
At just a year old he is a delight.

We finished the afternoon and evening in Gastown. Nice shops and restaurants to while away some time in, something to eat and a drink or two.

A perfect end to a perfect day!
( I'm afraid I mistakenly said Sea Otter before and I was wrong. I have seen Sea Otters in California and although these are in the sea they are river otters!)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.