Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Martinitoren - Groningen

Wow! The response to my silhouette SP yesterday was totally amazing! Thank you for your viewing and commenting!

Today I went shopping in Groningen. I got myself a new laptop and a flashlight. Both will come in handy for blipping: the laptop for obvious reasons and the flashlight to experiment with light painting.

The Martini Tower (Martinitoren) is the main tourist attraction in the city centre of Groningen so I figured it makes a good subject for today's blip. Construction on the tower started somewhere between 1469 and 1482 but it wasn't finished until mid 16th Century. The tower was miraculously spared in the severe fighting when Canadian forces liberated Groningen at the end of World War II.

So much for today's history lesson; take care and enjoy the remainder of the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.