The Roaches and Hen Cloud

As promised another view of The Roaches. Unfortunately, the light wasn't as spectacular as it was on Sunday evening, a bit hazy and murky. I decided I'd walk one of the classic figure of eight walks up over and around these rocks.

It's about a 4 hour walk but always takes me longer as I take far too many photos. And today I was completely side-tracked by a grasshopper before I'd even got to the top of the ridge! It was crawling/climbing over the gritstone rather than hopping, which I thought was quite appropriate as it's such a well known area for climbers.

The hill mirrored in the background is known as Hen Cloud.

Another great part of the walk is visiting a place called Lud's Church. It's not actually a church but a huge chasm in the rocks. When you first walk into it the temperature drops and you feel like you're in a cave. It's quite atmospheric and there is quite a bit of mythology surrounding it too.

I saw quite a lot of funghi in the woodland, but my knee needs to get a little better to spend time low down on the ground taking shots!!

I got the last report from my other half this evening about his walk along Hadrian's Wall. All done and he's very pleased! I can see he'll be planning his next one soon.... And his feet were getting better after buying liner socks which helped with the blisters!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.