eyesee

By davidc

Ready for the Great North Run...

"These shoes are made for running, and that's just what they'll do..."

Tomorrow is the 34th Great North Run, in which the Millionth Great North Runner is expected to cross the finishing line...maybe it'll be me? (I have about a 1:55,000 chance as there will be about that many runners!).

I have missed 5 of the Runs altogether: I missed the first 2 Runs (1981 & 1982), then did 2, then missed 3, and have done the last 26 consecutive Runs. So this will be my own 29th time of doing it (some folk may think I'm mad!!). As the years have gone by I have got gradually slower - we'll wait and see how long it takes me tomorrow! The weather forecast sounds quite good - high of 16C with a light following wind. Sounds nice; last year it was very wet at the end.

I like the half-marathon distance; it challenges you a bit without putting too much strain on the system. I've never had any aspirations to do a full marathon :)

Best wishes to any other Blippers who'll be there with me on the start line!

View large here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.