eyesee

By davidc

Great North Run 2014 - Everyone Raring to Go!

Thanks so much to those who sent their good wishes for my Great North Run, after I uploaded yesterday's blip.

I'm pleased to say that it went well today and was very enjoyable (I think!). As I get older it gets harder to run fast but I completed the 13.1 miles in 2 hours 15 mins without ever stopping to walk. (Not a patch on my Personal Best of 1 hour 34 mins, but that was about 12 years ago so I was somewhat younger! - and it was very hot today).

Needless to say I did not take my SLR with me, so my photos were taken on my phone. I chose this one to blip as it shows a section of the huge crowd of runners (57,000 apparently) raring to go! I've put some more shots on Flickr here if you want to take a quick look.

I gather that the Millionth Great North Runner crossed the finish line this afternoon (some time after I did) - they reckon this is the first mass participation sporting event in the world to reach that milestone. As I've now done 29 myself I suppose I have contributed to that!

The Run raises huge amounts for charity. I was running for "CHUF", the Children's Heart Unit Fund in Newcastle, as they saved the life of our 2nd son 28 years ago when he was born with a congenital heart defect. I'm wary of using Blipfoto in this way, but it's such a good cause if anyone is able to contribute a little bit the website is here. But I do realise that there are so many sponsored events these days that one can't support them all.

Click here to view the photo large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.