Mono-Monday: Contrasts - Tools

This photo shows the CONTRAST between two sorts of tool for smoothing a floor.
 
Once our wet floor had dried out (see my blip from last Thursday, here) I realised that some sections of the chipboard had swollen more than others. I felt it best to shave down the protruding boards at the joints so that the vinyl floor covering wouldn’t bend and crack over the irregularities.
 
Last time I did a similar job I used a manual “Surform” plane – this required a lot of effort! Since then I’ve acquired an electric orbital sander and I thought it would do the job much more quickly and easily. I was wrong. Even with coarse-grade sandpaper it struggled to make any impression on the (remarkably hard) chipboard. So it was back to the Surform and plenty of elbow grease: the old manual technique worked better than the mechanised tool :)
 
This reminded me of the song about John Henry – there’s a nice performance of the song by Bruce Springsteen from his Seeger Sessions tour here.
 
Many thanks to chantler63 for hosting MonoMonday this week :)

(The extra is the sunset behind the "Squinty Bridge" over the Clyde in Glasgow this evening. We've driven here today in a rental van to help son #2 move from Glasgow to a new job teaching maths at Bath University - a journey of about 400 miles (round trip total about 900 miles). Currently I'm panicking as to whether everything will fit in the van! It's going to be a rather busy time so I apologise in advance that comments will be in short supply this week!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.