Bramble leaves

I've had a most excellent day today. The weather forecast was for sun all day so I decided to go up Criffel, a hill which overlooks the Solway. The path is always very boggy, even after a dry spell, and today was no exception. I met two teenage girls whose shrieks could be heard a mile away as their skimpy cotton shoes filled up with mud. Maybe they will regret choosing to wear white shorts.. they were having fun, anyway. I also met a man who told me he was recovering after being in a coma for 5 months after a burst subarachnoid aneurysm. He used to be a dairyman, but now photographs weddings.
I had a light lunch at the excellent Abbey Cottage Restaurant in New Abbey and then headed to Dumfries for some errands (or"doing my messages" as we will say in an independent Scotland). I've also dropped in on a couple of friends and had a good natter. So although I set out on my own, I've enjoyed plenty of conversation along the way.
The path on the lower slopes of Criffel had plenty of blackberries (or "brambles" as they're called up here). The leaves were turning and looked beautifully autumnal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.