misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Some Street Garden Journal-Photography

These lovely blooming annuals which I started from seed are beautifying what was once a rubble pile on the street in front of my property.
They are white Cleome, orange Poet's Tassel flowers, and some still arising velvety Celosia. Perhaps I will try for close up blips of each flower for the memory journal. I hope the celosia get a chance to grow fully before the frosts arrive. Both the cleomes and Poet's Tassels are expected to be self-seeders and make a permanent hove right here on the street. In the background is my neighbours' white house. A wild growing Rosebay still blooms along the boundary edge of the property.
Further street plantings this spring are several willows.They are not in this blip. If I can learn the coppicing process from the internet then in the spring I shall begin cutting and weaving them into a kind of fence/hedge... called a fehedge (I think).
This area is extremely wet and the willows are there to soak up the flooding water from the street.
I did not have to water the new annual bed at all this spring/summer. Lucky spot which also pleases the many dog walkers passing by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.