Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

End of a long week

Well that's the first Summer School finished. I've to do another later in the holidays, but that's one down and I'm exhausted. A big problem was the fact that prior to this I'd been on holiday for 4 weeks and getting used to getting up in the mornings was a slog. It was only today that I finally got back into my routine of waking up five minutes before the alarm went off. Another thing that made it tiring was that I was doing full days in at the college where normally I'm only part time in there. The final thing that added to it is the fact that teaching a group of 10 - 16 year olds is far more demanding that teaching adults. Not that the kids weren't enthusiastic, just that attention spans and boredom thresholds seemed to be far shorter than in my adult students. I'm certainly looking forward to a long lie tomorrow.

As for the course, I thought it went really well. I had a fantastic bunch of kids to teach and despite only really having four full days working with them I was hugely impressed with both the quality of photos they were taking and the speed with which they picked up Photoshop. The reason we only had four full days was that there was a big show and exhibition this afternoon. We exhibited work by my lot and the TV and Radio students then the Drama group and the Musical theatre group put on a show. It was plain to see that it wasn't only my group who had been working hard as everyone?s work displayed real talent.

As a result of the event this afternoon this morning was spent mounting the prints which had been done last night, organising all the shots which had been taken through the week and burning DVDs of the stuff which they couldn't print to take home. After that my lunch break was spent doing labels for the exhibition shots and grabbing easels from all over the college to display the work on. It was all very worthwhile though.

Anyway, if any of the kids I was teaching happen to read this you did fantastically well in the limited time we had, and if any of their parents are reading you should be very proud of your kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.