The heart of Sunday night

What a fantastic evening. I was a bit tired after Optimo last night, but that all changed when I got into the Playhouse. I don't think I've ever seen such a great showman as Tom Waits. I have seen some good artists like Morrissey and even more so Prince who have the ability to captivate the audience but even those two are nothing like Tom.

He played for about two and a half hours and while I'm not enough of a trainspotter to remember the whole setlist it was littered with favourites. Tabletop Joe, Lucinda, Down in the hole, Make it rain, I'll shoot the moon and Get behind the mule to name just a few. The whole thing was scattered with stories and jokes too.

He had a great backing band, including both his sons and just put on a brilliant performance, both with th efull band and in the middle section where it was just him on piano and the guy on double bass. They certainly don't make musicians and showmen like that any more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.