Return to the North

By Viking

Gotchya

I walked from my room to reception this morning (rather than call for a golf cart) I and taken some of my crap over to the car earlier so all I had was my clothes bag, camera and handbag. As i was walking towards reception I heard a very strong piercing bird call and looked up to see what I though was possibly a wood pigeon(kereru) in the tree. It was strange because I didn't think it was the call of the wood pigeon. Anyway as I got closer I realised it was a hawk of some kind and presumably, given the time of year, it was calling to a mate. Anyway I cursed at only having my normal lens on but took some shots anyway.
I carried on walking to the car, got the zoom lens and walked back and it was still sat in the tree! Counting my blessings I barrelled off several(!) shots. None of them were super sharp (chela lens) and staring straight into the sun / blue sky hasn't helped. But this is probably the clearest shot of a hawk I've had - ever!

Alas am home again now and the weekend of luxury is over - but hey the sun is still shining so I will make the most of it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.