24 hour holiday!

I sneaked off to Brighton for a 24 hour holiday, to see my surrogate grandsons.

My neighbours from the farm moved to Brighton 3 years ago and it has been a delight that we have remained in touch. With busy schedules it has been impossible to arrange a meeting this summer, until today- the last day of the school holiday.

It was perfect. The sun shone and with no wind it was warm enough to have fish and chips on the beach - swim in the sea and have ice cream.

When the boys were finally in bed we sat in the garden, dined and drank wine until after midnight, making life plans and putting the world to rights.

The joy of being woken up the next morning by two small boys running into my room with an armful of books was exquisite.

After walking them to school I drove home to be at work by mid day.

Mini holidays are perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.