A Tour of My Garden

As you can see I have done a collage today of some of the wonderful spring flowers I have out just now. Most people would know but some other may not.

On the Top Left is: Chionodoxa also known as the Glory-of-the-Snow. It is a small genus of bulbous perennial flowering plants in the family Asparagaceae, subfamily Scilloideae, often included in Scilla. The genus is endemic to the eastern Mediterranean, specifically Crete, Cyprus and Turkey. The blue, white or pink flowers appear early in the year making them valuable garden ornamentals. The common name of the genus is based on the habit of flowering in high alpine zones when the snow melts in spring.

Middle Top: You can see that my Orchid is still flowering and the Primula is making a wonderful splash of colour. You can see the Maidenhair Fern doing well and some daffodils.

Top Right:
Is a Trillium and I have a red one as well.. all from my father. Trillium (trillium, wakerobin, tri flower, birthroot, birthwort) is a genus of about 40–50 species of perennial flowering plants native to temperate regions of North America and Asia.

Trillium are described as “spring ephemeral” flowers, meaning they are wildflowers that develop the aerial parts (i.e. stems, leaves and flowers) of the plant early each spring and then quickly bloom, and produce seed. The leaves often wither, leaving only underground structures (roots, rhizomes, and bulbs) for the remainder of the year.

While they are beautiful to look at they are also extremely fragile, and picking them seriously injures the plant by preventing the leaf-like bracts from producing food for the next year, often effectively killing the plant and ensuring none will grow in its place.

Trillium is one of many plants whose seeds are spread by ants. At maturity, the base and core of the trillium ovary turns soft and spongy. Trillium seeds have a fleshy organ that produces small fruits that attracts ants. The ants take the fruits to their nest, where they eat them but put the seeds in their “garbage,” where they can germinate in a rich growing medium.


Bottom Left:
Is my first and only Tulip out so far.

Bottom Middle:
One of my Father Daffodils.

Bottom Right: A beautiful red Camellia, sorry I don't know its name.

That is a tour of my garden today on what was a beautiful sunny mild morning that clouded over and turned cold.

It was just about time for my three monthly visit to my doctor and because I my ears were still sore thought I would get them checked out. The infection seems to have cleared up apart from being a little pink, she seem to think I may have blocked sinus. That is what is giving me the earache and all my glands are still swollen. So that bug is hanging around still after four weeks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.