Jennie2013

By Jennie2013

Routines

This picture may be very bland, but to me it represents a few things- triumph (finally!) over the kitchen and settling into a routine here in PNP. A friend and I were talking about how its always easier the second time around in a city. You're familiar with the city and its quirks- you know that you have to walk at a diagonal when crossing the street, and when a tuk tuk driver says he knows where you want to go, there is an 70% chance that you will end up on the other side of town. With familiarity comes the ability to relax and settle into routines. Part of my routine has been cooking class. The kitchen has always eluded me. Its full of things that any clumsy person, like myself would be terrified of- fire, surfaces capable of producing 2rd degree burns, and an endless array of sharp objects. Needless to say, I avoid cooking and opt for the safer option- takeout. However, I realized a great way to share Cambodia with family and friends and a way for myself to remember this wonderful country is to learn how to make its food. The spring rolls pictured and another dish common here- fish amok were my first attempt at that. If anyone is wondering, they were edible and no one got sick after eating them- a success by my standards! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.