Heavenly Barns

Many many thanks for all the comments and stars on yesterday's picture of the steam train at Ribblehead. They are most appreciated, and it is the second highest rated picture I have had on blip. I'll thank people when I have a bit more time.

We decided to have a leisurely Sunday morning as it was Mum and Dad's 40th Wedding Anniversary. After an early lunch we drove to the Moorcock Sheep Show just outside of Appersett. It was apparently one of The shows to attend in the Dales.

Being Rural Dave, it was decided we should attend. On first glance it didn't seem to be much there, but it held our attention for well over 3 hours. There were pens of different classes of sheep from Blue Faced Leicesters, to Texels to Rough Fell Sheep. Different groups of sheep were selected and judged throughout the afternoon. There must have been getting on for 10 different judges. Most peoples attention was taken with the sheep, or the beer tent, and not with the few craft stalls that were there. We were even invited to judge some sheep!

Moorcock photos

After tea we went back out to Ribblehead as there was another steam train due, but even though it was a lovely sunny evening, the train didn't look that great as it was going down hill, so there was very little steam in contrast to yesterday.

While we were out the clouds really cleared and the sky was looking promising for a starry night. I had hoped being out in the Dales, with very little light I might get a good night for some star photos. I popped out across the road from the cottage back to the barns from the other evening and set myself up and played with settings. The nearly full moon was so bright I stopped using my torch as I could see as well by the moonlight. It was very still and quiet, except for the occasional call of the owls that live in the trees near the cottage.

So here are the barns of Wensleydale under heavenly skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.