TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Island in the Sun: the "Punta"

Looking at the Sea this morning, I thought: all descriptions are bound to fail. Being at the Surf, it went through me: all attempts to equal this ongoing and changing Rustling, will be in vain. Swimming and drifting in the dark green rippling Sea Water, I felt: this experience is so encompassing and unique, that any trying to write about This will fall short. Even when I start with some detail, trying to find the way to This Total Experience is useless.

Not because of the poor relativity of language. Not because any photo, video or sketch could not make visible from within, my way of Being in suspense here between the incoming waves. Even if later on by editing some elements could be supplied: a Gull skimming over, Touching the ground with my toes, drowning my eyes in the wave, the glittering Sun half behind the edge of a cloud.

And whoever would like to join me there, would still enjoy - as I may hope - his or her own, unique experience. Perhaps you would feel that it is already too cold to swim any longer. Brr, get out and warm up: to hell with your Total Experience. Sorry, End of season, see you next year in May or June...I don’t want to catch a cold here. Go on experiencing and breathing while swimming, see you later on the terrace with some hot drink. Well, so be it then. Perhaps later on or next year there will be a new opportunity to ask for your attention….Attention?

Attention for what? Indeed, there is a point in writing my journal text, in spite of all the apparant paradoxes. And that is, that my almost daily seaside walking&swimming - while doing my breathing exercise - makes me more and more aware of that incomprehensible Totality and Great Experience I’m entering in, leaving it again, when I return to the mainland everyday world. But the deepening change I undergo, sticks inside my soul, like the salt is roughening my skin, bleaching my hair. Is that what is called a process of liquidation of Ego?

Perhaps, I really do not know. But I feel Change is affecting my way of living. That is why I return to this Zandmotor, this Other End of the Peninsula, where the Power of the Sea breaks through, shows its mighty strength. Nothing special to see here: a couple of Gulls, an ending or beginning of a sandbar, a strong rippling stream. But that is not what electrifies me, fascinates me, makes me breathing heavier, Ah! makes me Smile to Be Here, crossing the water towards that Ïsland in the Sun, that "Punta”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.